High school golfer denied history
By mustang6560 on 5/16/12
Caroline Inglis was poised to become the first golfer in the history of Oregon high school athletics to win four straight individual titles. However, she was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
Inglis was disqualified after her final round for signing an incorrect scorecard. She shot a 3-under-par 69 at Trysting Tree Golf Club and would have finished at 2 under and won by nine shots.Sure, it's every golfer's responsibility to double check his or her own scorecard before signing it, however, it's unfair that Caroline will be denied her rightful place in history because her playing partner can't add, and she did not catch the error in time (I imagine her adrenaline was in overdrive knowing she just made history).
The USGA needs to update its rules to make sure "clerical" errors like this do not prevent a deserving champion from winning. There is no worldly lesson, in my opinion, to be learned in this situation to justify the rule. It's just a silly rule that needs to be updated.
Image via Flickr, arjunkamloops
Did I miss something? Tip Your Editor
[ comments ]
I respectfully disagree. While it is unfortunate that this happened to the young woman, it was indeed incumbent upon her to assure that the score was correct before she signed it. As a tournament golfer, this was something that she was fully aware of and could hardly plead ignorance.
This happens at the professional level all the time, and to their credit, for better or worse, they take the bad with the good and move on.
While many people like to complain about the vagaries of the rules of the R&A and the USGA, it is what it is. One thing is for sure, this is [[presumably]] a mistake she definitely won't repeat.
this is 2012 - we use technology - calculators - to record and verify scores. This young lady should not be denied because of a human error. Prior to the computer input of the scores - the error could have been caught and corrected.
[ post comment ]
Kevin Langdon (7)