Do you know Rule 25-2 of the Rules of Golf?
By mustang6560 on 1/18/13
I am in no way a rules expert, however, I think it's important to know the Rules of Golf — whether or not you play by them is an entirely different topic of conversation. Learning the rules, in my opinion, is part of our responsibility to the game, and you never know when it will save you from incurring a costly two-stroke penalty — a la Tiger Woods.
In the second round of the HSBC Abu Dhabi Championship, Tiger found himself in a viney-situation on the fifth hole at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club. His ball embedded in a thicket of vines, and citing "Rule 25-2. Embedded Ball", he gave himself a free drop after conferring with Martin Kaymer.
The problem is, however, Rule 25-2 very specific. The rule grants players a free drop if their ball is embedded in the ground, and the viney-area where Tiger's ball embedded was actually a sandy area, so he was assessed a two-stroke penalty following his round. The penalty bumped his 73 to a 75, which left him outside of the cut line and sent him packing.
If you weren't familiar with Rule 25-2 prior to Tiger's penalty, then commit it to memory. I don't want to hear about any oobers incurring a two-stroke penalty for incorrectly taking relief from an embedded lie!
25-2. Embedded Ball
Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor!
Image via Flickr, chebbs
[ comments ]
Query. What does "through the green" actually mean?
Parents get riled up at report card time. Then they don’t follow up on monitoring their children’s progress in the next quarter while they could buy an essay. They do nothing until the end of the next quarter and get riled up once again.
[ post comment ]